Telit LE910C4 + RPi as Mobile Hotspot | The Journey To Success

It’s been a long three days, but I wanted to do a write up to talk about how I failed and eventually succeeded in getting the Sixfab HAT to work for me.

Note!: Please understand I can’t give tech advice/support. This is just what worked for me. Perhaps I got lucky. If I were you, I’d read the whole post below before taking any action to see if this works for you before you mess something up.

Equipment:
RaspberryPi 4 with an A/C power supply (important)
Sixfab HAT
Sixfab SIM

Picture unpowered:

I am extremely new to Linux, so this was quite a mess for me. I began by following the hardware setup on the product page and then the tutorials at Tutorials, trying to get the card to do something simple in ECM mode using minicom and the AT commands as instructed. I tried over and over sending an SMS until I read that the Sixfab SIM does not allow SMS or calls. So that was a waste.

Having set my modem to ECM, I tried to setup QMI so I could “graduate” to the next phase in testing the modem → getting the hotspot going. This is where the real frustrations began.

First, I had the modem set up on ECM, and thanks to @saeed who told me I needed to set AT#USBCFG=0 to get the driver to show up correctly in lsusb -t. The driver didn’t show up before I made this adjustment and it was driving me nuts.

When I tried to set AT#USBCFG=0, minicom bugged out on me. The modem was constantly disconnecting and minicom was “typing on its own”.

minicom -D /dev/ttyUSB2 -b 115200